Using Deployment

The Deployment area lets developers manage deployments of your commercetools Frontend project.

From Deployment in the Developer area, you can deploy a build and roll back to a previous build.

For further information on deployment, see Deployment overview.

Deployments page in the Studio

Deploy a build

To deploy a build version, follow these steps:

  1. From the Studio home page or from the left menu, go to Developer > Deployment.
  2. In the Staging or Production section, click Deploy only backend or Deploy frontend and backend: the Builds available dialog opens.
  3. Click the build you want to deploy. When you confirm the deployment, it is added to the queue and the short commit hash and the deployment status are displayed.

Do not deploy directly from Netlify. It causes issues with your deployment due to inconsistencies between builds.

We recommend deploying only builds for the master branch.

View deployment details

To view the details of the latest deployment, follow these steps:

  1. From the Studio home page or from the left menu, go to Developer > Deployment.
  2. In the Staging and Production sections, you will find the URL, short commit hash, and date and time of the build release for both frontend and backend builds. For backend builds, up to three short commit hashes are displayed.

You can view the status of the deployment by clicking the Deployments history icon. A successful, failed, or scheduled status is displayed next to each deployment.

Do not deploy directly from Netlify. It causes issues with your deployment due to inconsistencies between builds.

A version mismatch error message appears next to the Short commit hash field if you trigger a deployment from the Netlify dashboard or if the auto publishing lock on Netlify is not active. You can resolve the problem by creating a new deployment from the Studio.

Roll back deployment

To roll back a deployment, follow these steps:

  1. From the Studio home page or from the left menu, go to Developer > Deployment.
  2. In the Staging or Production section, click Deploy only backend or Deploy frontend and backend: the Builds available dialog opens.
  3. Click the build you want to roll back to.